Ronald Bruner Jr. Gets Thundercat, Mac Miller, Kamasi Washington for 'Triumph' Debut

Ronald Bruner Jr. Gets Thundercat, Mac Miller, Kamasi Washington for 'Triumph' Debut
Having manned the drumkit for the likes of Kendrick Lamar, Kamasi Washington, Suicidal Tendencies and more Ronald Bruner Jr. has detailed a solo record of his own. Titled Triumph, the full-length will arrive in March through World Galaxy/Alpha Pup.

Eleven tracks in length, Triumph was recorded during the same sessions for Kamasi Washington's The Epic and was made in collaboration with Bruner Jr.'s brothers Stephen Bruner (best known as Thundercat) and Jameel Bruner (formerly of the Internet). Features come from Washington, Thundercat, George Duke, Mac Miller and Danielle Withers.

A SoundCloud description pits Triumph as "a direct result of working with century defining artists such as Stanley Clarke, Kendrick Lamar, Flying Lotus, Wayne Shorter, Prince, Chaka Khan, Q-Tip, Kenny Garrett and Stevie Wonder."

Lyrically, the record will explore "the deepest extensions of the heart, the restraints of human connection and the dynamic free for all of growing through this world."

Bruner Jr. has also shared the record's first single with "Take the Time," which sees him team up with his bass playing brother. You can find that in the player below, along with Triumph's tracklisting. The record will arrive March 3, and can be pre-ordered here.


1. True Story
2. Take the Time (ft. Thundercat)
3. She'll Never Change
4. Geome Deome (ft. George Duke)
5. Whenever
6. Doesn't Matter
7. Open the Gate
8. One Night
9. Sensation (ft. Mac Miller and Danielle Withers)
10. To You / For You
11. Chick's Web