Ron Sexsmith Preps 'Forever Endeavour'

Ron Sexsmith Preps 'Forever Endeavour'
One of Canada's most reliable songwriters will be returning with a new album in 2013, as self-effacing stalwart Ron Sexsmith has a new LP on the way. Entitled Forever Endeavour, it will be out on February 5 through Warner Music.

The album was produced by Sexsmith's frequent studio collaborator Mitchell Froom, who has previously worked with the songwriter on a string of records. Recording took place back in 2011 in Santa Monica, with strings overdubbed in Los Angeles. The album reportedly boasts a melancholic, orchestra-assisted sound that represents a departure from 2011's glossy Long Player Late Bloomer.

"With Long Player, I think I wanted to make something sort of like Tapestry — just sort of catchy from start to finish," Sexsmith said in a statement, "But these were perfect songs to work on with Mitchell. It's probably the most personal album I've made, too, so it felt appropriate to do it with him."

For a taste of what the album has to offer, scroll past the tracklist to listen to the bummed-out opener "Nowhere to Go."

Sexsmith has a number of European shows booked for 2013, but he has yet to announce any North American appearances. See the schedule here.

Forever Endeavour:

1. Nowhere to Go
2. Nowhere Is
3. If Only Avenue
4. Snake Road
5. Blind Eye
6. Lost In Thought
7. Sneak out the Back Door
8. Back of My Hand
9. Deepens with Time
10. Me Myself and Wine
11. She Does My Heart Good
12. The Morning Light