Rogue Wave Return with 'Nightingale Floors'

Rogue Wave Return with 'Nightingale Floors'
Over three years after California indie-pop troupe Rogue Wave delivered their fourth LP Permalight, the act have announced a follow-up. Titled Nightingale Floors, it arrives June 4 through the band's new label home Vagrant.

A press release for the 10-song set notes that it was recorded with John Congleton (Modest Mouse, the Walkmen, David Byrne & St. Vincent) at Cotati, CA's Prairie Sun Recording Studios. The song cycle apparently meditates on themes of life and death, inspired partly by the death of Rogue Wave leader Zach Schwartz's father during the writing of the record.

In a statement, Schwartz wrote, "Everyone has drama in their life. Everyone's experienced life and death and injury. Maybe us a little bit more, I don't know. I've always joked with Pat [Spurgeon, drummer]: 'Everything is trying to kill us, but we're still here.'" 

On top of band constants Schwartz and Spurgeon, Nightingale Floors features performances from touring bassist Masanori Mark Christianson, Peter Wolf Crier's Peter Pisano on guitar, vocals from Sea of Bees' Jules Baenziger, and synth work from Mwahaha's Ross Peacock. You can stream the lightly bouncing teaser track "College" down below.

Nightingale Floors:

1. No Magnatone

2. College

3. Figured It Out

4. Siren's Song

5. The Closer I Get

6. S(a)tan

7. Used To It

8. Without Pain

9. When Sunday Morning Comes

10. Everyone Wants to Be You