Red Hot Chili Peppers Announce 'I'm With You' LP

Red Hot Chili Peppers Announce 'I'm With You' LP
Over a year ago, we reported that famed funk rockers the Red Hot Chili Peppers would be holing up in a studio to record some new material. Now, they've completely finished the album and set a release date. Best of all, it's no longer called Dr. Johnny Skinz's Disproportionately Rambunctious Polar Express Machine-head.

Instead, the album is called I'm With You and will be the band's first since longtime guitarist John Frusciante quit in 2009. As reported, touring guitarist Josh Klinghoffer has stepped up in Frusciante's place.

Consequence of Sound points to an interview that Anthony Kiedis did with KROQ earlier this year, where he said that "the big difference, writing wise, for this album is [bassist] Flea got his piano playing together, and so instead of him coming in with really cool ideas for the bass guitar, he'd come in with really cool ideas for the piano."

Kiedis also commented on Klinghoffer's role in the album, saying, "Josh has never really had a band he was part of... he came in with sort of a lifetime of music... a real reservoir of chords and ideas... and now he has a place for it."

I'm With You will be released on August 30 via Warner Bros. Records. It will be preceded by lead single "The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie," which will debut on July 18.