Peter Bjorn and John Get Hip-Hop Remix LP Featuring Bun B, Three Six Mafia, GZA and More

Peter Bjorn and John Get Hip-Hop Remix LP Featuring Bun B, Three Six Mafia, GZA and More
Maybe it's their charming melodies, addictive rhythms or that one song with the whistling, but whatever the case, rappers just can't get enough Peter Bjorn and John. The Swedes have already appeared on Kanye's Can't Tell Me Nothing mixtape, where Ye rapped about porn over their "Young Folks" track, and their "Let's Call It Off" made an appearance on Drake's So Far Gone mix, too.

But it doesn't end there. Peter, Bjorn and John's catalogue will be the subject for an entire mixtape. Titled Re-Living Thing, the mix was produced by mixtape legend Mick Boogie, who was handed the masters to the trio's recent Living Thing album.

The mix features brand new contributions from some major hip-hop heavyweights, including GZA, Kardinal Offishall, Wale, Young Chris & Rhymefest, Bun B, Talib Kweli, Three 6 Mafia with Trouble Andrew, Amanda Blank, 88-Keys and Big Sean with Black Milk.

In an interview with MTV News, Boogie explained his process, saying, "I listened to the album over and over again and I learned it and loved it, and I thought about all the people I wanted to work with and who fit what and then ... I would pick a producer for each song," Boogie said. "After we got the beats back, I would listen to them again and see if the vibe changed and then figure out which artist was good for which track."

Through hanging out with PB & J, Boogie was also taken aback by their knowledge of hip hop. "We talked music and production and artists and it showed me what a global phenomenon hip hop is, because these guys who grew up in Sweden were quoting Wu-Tang lyrics - and they knew all the underground stuff, too, like Amanda Blank and Kidz in the Hall."

Re-Living Things will drop as a free download on August 27.

Here's a tentative list of tracks to be found on the album:

J. Cole and GZA: "The Feeling" (remixed by Marco Polo)
Kardinal Offishall, Donnis, and Heno: "It Just Don't Move Me" (remixed by Jet Audio)
Big Sean and Black Milk: "Just The Past" (remixed by nVMe)
Wale, Young Chris, and Rhymefest: "Nothing To Worry About" (remixed by the Kickdrums)
Bun B: "Losing My Mind" (remixed by 6th Sense)
Freebass 808 and Amanda Blank: "Living Thing" (remixed by Apple Juice Kid)
Talib Kweli: "I Want You" (remixed by William Russell / Good Life Mike)
Three 6 Mafia and Trouble Andrew: "Lay It Down" (remixed by the Kickdrums)
Big Pooh, Chaundon, and Phil Nash: "Stay This Way" (remixed by Jazzy Jeff)
Naledge and Mickey Factz: "Blue Period Picasso" (remixed by nVMe)
88 Keys, Outasight, and 6th Sense: "4 Out Of 5" (remixed by 6th Sense)
U-N-I: "Last Night" (remixed by Remot)