Perfume Genius Announces 'Put Your Back N 2 It'

Perfume Genius Announces 'Put Your Back N 2 It'
Last year, Seattle's Perfume Genius (aka Mike Hadreas) delivered his delicately barebones debut, Learning, but the singer-songwriter allegedly has something a little more grand up his sleeves on his newly announced sophomore set, Put Your Back N 2 It.

According to Matador, who release the follow-up on February 21, this next Perfume Genius LP is "much more universal, addressing intimacy, power, family, secrecy, and hope, not just through his impressionistic lyrics, but the music itself, which is as lush as Learning was stark."

The 12-song album was tracked in England and Washington with Andrew Morgan and John Goodmanson. You can check out new number "All Water," which favours ever-building synthscapes and choral arrangements over his past attachment to minimalist piano, over here.

Perfume Genius is also now touting a three-piece lineup, which is currently touring the East Coast of the U.S. with Beirut. No Canadian dates, unfortunately, but you can check the schedule below.

Put Your Back N 2 It:

1. "Awol Marine"

2. "Normal Song"

3. "No Tear"

4. "17"

5. "Take Me Home"

6. "Dirge"

7. "Dark Parts"

8. "All Waters"

9. "Hood"

10. "Put Your Back N2 It"

11. "Floating Spit"

12. "Sister Song"

Tour dates:

12/5 Asheville, NC - The Orange Peel *

12/7 Athens, GA - The Georgia Theatre *

12/8 Carrboro, NC - Cat's Cradle
12/10 Pittsburgh, PA - Altar *

12/11 Pittsburgh, PA - Altar *

12/13 Washington, DC - 9:30 Club *

12/14 Washington, DC - 9:30 Club *

* with Beirut