Nick Ferrio Returns with New LP, Shares First Single

Nick Ferrio Returns with New LP, Shares First Single
Nick Ferrio has served time in the Burning Hell and Baby Eagle & the Proud Mothers, but in 2012 he broke away to release an album of his own. Now, he's back at it with another LP. This one is called Amongst the Coyotes and Birdsongs, and it will be out on May 28 through Headless Owl Records/Shuffling Feet Records.

Sessions took place in Sackville, NB, and Toronto with Wooden Sky frontman Gavin Gardiner acting as producer. According to a press release, the result is "a subtle, understated and confident collection of songs that examines the ferociousness of love." Ferrio is releasing it under his own name, rather than the prior moniker Nick Ferrio & His Feelings.

Contributors include Tamara Lindeman (the Weather Station), Steve Lambke (Constantines, Baby Eagle) and Ian Kehoe (Marine Dreams).

Meanwhile, Evening Hymns sing backup on "Come Hell or High Water." That twangy country number can be heard below. The song will additionally be released on a limited-edition 7-inch; the B-side is an intimate rendition of the same song featuring Julie Doiron.

The single can be pre-ordered here. Ferrio previously performed the tune on Exclaim! TV.

The Doiron-aided version also appears as a bonus track on the full-length. See the tracklist below.

Amongst the Coyotes and Birdsongs:

1. Hide My Love
2. Fall in Love
3. Come Hell or High Water
4. Mirror Ball Shine
5. At My Window
6. Wrecking Ball
7. Amongst the Coyotes and Birdsongs
8. Hang Man
9. Back in Town
10. Come Hell or High Water (Sackville Bonus)