Montag Collects 'Phases' Singles Series on New LP, Rolls Out Canadian Tour Dates

Montag Collects 'Phases' Singles Series on New LP, Rolls Out Canadian Tour Dates
Last year, Montreal electro-pop musician Montag (aka Antoine Bédard) mounted a monthly online singles series dubbed Phases, and those songs will now be gathered up on a limited-edition LP. Carpark issues the compilation record on June 25.

The vinyl pressing of Phases contains all 12 monthly singles Montag delivered over the course of 2012. The project had him crafting a new tune each month, and chronicling the events in audio documentaries and videos. While the artist had issued a handful of B-sides throughout the project, those songs will not be on the LP; however, a download card included with the package will house a series of bonus remixes.

You can see the LP tracklisting down below.

Phases includes the peppy series opener "New Design," the Kate Bush-meets-M83-styled "New Found Land" and "MEMORI," which features guest vocals from Au Revoir Simone's Erika Spring. You can sample Montag's new 15-minute mega-mix sampler for the set down below.

"It felt dangerous, and sometimes I wondered if it was too ambitious, but it also felt good, having to write the songs in time and on time every month," Bédard said of Phases. "Each song is a time capsule of what I was living in the moment and what was inspiring me."

Montag also has a few live shows coming up in Canada and has launched a Indiegogo campaign to help raise funds for the trek. You can see the show details beneath Phases' tracklisting.


1. New Design

2. Trip The Light Fantastic

3. P.I.E.C.E.S.

4. Next Life

5. New Found Land

6. There Is A Voice

7. True Love (ft. James Bay)

8. Phares

9. Sun Fat Explosion

10. MEMORI (ft. Erika Spring)

11. Archipel/Legende

12. The Last Call

Tour dates:

5/18 Montreal, QC - Le Belmont (Montag DJ set) *

5/24 Montreal, QC - Divan Orange (One Man Band Festival)

7/3 Ottawa, ON - Mercury Lounge

7/4 Toronto, ON - The Piston ^

7/5 Montreal, QC - Sala Rossa ^

* with Mozart's Sister

^ with Digits