Melvins Announce New Double Album 'A Walk with Love and Death'

Drummer Dale Crover: "You'll sleep with the lights on after listening"
Melvins Announce New Double Album 'A Walk with Love and Death'
After delivering a long-lost collaborative record and low-end celebration Basses Loaded last year, Melvins have lifted the curtain on their first-ever double album of new material. Titled A Walk with Love and Death, the band's latest arrives on July 7 through Ipecac Recordings.

A Walk with Love and Death is said to show two distinct sides of the band's music, with a press release revealing that the Death side is "a proper Melvins release" while the Love side is a score to a short of the same name by Jesse Nieminen. Though a release date for the short has yet to be determined, you can find a trailer in the player below.

The two discs include contributions from Joey Santiago (Pixies), Teri Gender Bender (Le Butcherettes/Crystal Fairy) and Anna Waronker (That Dog). Both discs were also produced by engineer Toshi Kosai.

"This was a huge undertaking," Buzz Osborne said in a statement. "All three things: the album, the soundtrack and the film are benchmarks for us."

Drummer Dale Crover added, "A Walk with Love and Death is one giant, dark, moody, psychotic head trip! Not for the faint of heart. You'll sleep with the lights on after listening."

The press release also makes mention of a forthcoming North American summer tour announcement. Until more details are revealed, take in the tracklist and trailer for A Walk with Love and Death below.

A Walk With Love and Death:


1. Aim High
2. Queen Powder Party
3. Street Level St. Paul
4. The Hidden Joice
5. Give It To Me
6. Chicken Butt
7. Eat Yourself Out
8. Scooba
9. Halfway to the Bakersfield Mall
10. Pacoima Normal
11. Park Head
12. T-Burg
13. Track Star
14. The Asshole Bastard


1. Black Heath
2. Sober-delic (acid only)
3. Euthanasia
4. What's Wrong With You
5. Edgar the Elephant
6. Christ Hammer
7. Flaming Creature
8. Cactus Party
9. Cardboro Negro