The Melodic Announce 'Effra Parade' LP

The Melodic Announce 'Effra Parade' LP
English outfit the Melodic have announced that their first afro-pop- and folk-flecked LP, Effra Parade, is due to drop November 5 via Anti-.

The band's first full-length follows the recent On My Way EP, with a press release explaining that the group self-recorded the set over the last several years "in a sound-proofed bedroom in South London."

The band explained in a statement: "We ran wires under floorboards, constructed acoustic panels, and converted Rudi's [Schmidt] childhood bedroom into a modest studio, fully equipped with a fold-down bed for those late night sessions. There, under the watchful eye of a Lee 'Scratch' Perry painting, we delved into the art of recording and production."

"On My Way" and "Roots" from the On My Way EP are included on the LP, which features 15 tracks overall. While dabbling in world sounds plucked from Latin America, the Caribbean and Africa, Effra Parade is also said to be influenced by the likes of Belle and Sebastian, Paul Simon, the Decemberists and Magnetic Fields.

You can check out a video for the folky "On My Way" down below.

The Melodic are coming to the U.S. later this week to support their impending debut LP. You can see the dates here.

  Effra Parade:

1. Last Thing You Said (intro)

2. On My Way

3. Imperfect Time

4. Plunge

5. Honey Bee (interlude)

6. Roots

7. Runaway

8. Ode to Victor Jara

9. Willow (interlude)

10. Come Outside

11. Lost You

12. Dreams of Air

13. Watch the World Turn Blue

14. Piece Me Back Together

15. Effra Parade (outro)