Meek Is Murder Return with 'Everything Is Awesome Nothing Matters'

Meek Is Murder Return with 'Everything Is Awesome Nothing Matters'
Close to a year after issuing the sci-fi-themed Into the Sun Where It Falls Off the Sky EP, Meek Is Murder have announced they have a new LP on the way. Their Everything Is Awesome Nothing Matters drops on vinyl October 22 through Threshold of Pain Records, with the band handling the digital release on their own.

A press release notes that this is the band's first full-length since 2011's Algorithms. Like their debut, it was produced by Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou at his GodCity studio in Salem, MA, and then mastered by Alan Douches (Mastodon, Dillinger Escape Plan).

Described as being influenced by the noise-core greats Botch, grind weirdos the Locust, and other punky outfits, the record is said to be "relentless and raw." The first eight songs off the LP apparently blaze by in just eight minutes.

The record was written in a time of turmoil for guitarist-vocalist Mike Keller, who suffered "three deaths in his family, the end of a four-year relationship, the loss of all his possessions in a fire, temporary homelessness, illness, and a critically injured dog," according to the press sheet.

"In a year like that, the temptation is there to become despondent and angry with the world. But you do what you can to get through the day and in the end you become a stronger dude for it," Keller said in a statement. "The truth was always there but I was finally able to make some sense of it all. Life is a paradox: it is cruel and beautiful and any meaning comes from within. Embrace your insignificance and make what you want, just because you want to experience the journey of making it. Everything is awesome. Nothing matters."

You can sample some footage of the band putting down some vicious-sounding tunes in the studio down below, where you'll also find the LP's tracklisting.

Everything Is Awesome Nothing Matter:

1. Last Year
2. Passerby
3. Dumb As Death's Head
4. Ashes & Glass 
5. In the Ground
6. You Had a Horse
7. Our Dream
8. More Always More
9. Less Is More 
10. Our Hope / Our Home
11. Paper Hands and the Desert Sea
12. Ghost Moth 
13. Play Dead