Massive Attack Ready New EP, Tap TV on the Radio's Tunde Adebimpe to Guest

Massive Attack Ready New EP, Tap TV on the Radio's Tunde Adebimpe to Guest
Earlier this year, we reported that trip-hop heads Massive Attack would be dropping a new album, possibly titled Weather Underground, this fall. Unfortunately, it appears that the album is not ready, with the record now set for a February 2010 release. However, Massive Attack fans won't spend their autumn completely empty handed, as the band have announced a new guest-loaded EP.

The release is called Splitting the Atom, and will feature four unreleased Massive Attack songs, two of which are remixes. Atom includes vocal contributions from reggae legend/long-time Massive Attack collaborator Horace Andy, Elbow vocalist Guy Garvey, Martina Topley-Bird and, perhaps most excitingly, TV on the Radio front-man Tunde Adebimpe, who sings atop the track "Prayer for Rain." The remixed tracks are taken care of by Van Rivers & the Subliminal Kid and Christoff Berg.

As for that long-awaited full-length, a press release ensures us that it will hit in February, and will feature collaborations with Damon Albarn and Hope Sandoval, as well as Topley-Bird, Garvey and Adebimpe. Massive Attack are also to begin an 18-month world that will set down in Canada in March 2010.

Splitting the Atom will be released by north of the border via EMI Canada on October 6.

Splitting the Atom:

1. "Splitting the Atom" (ft. The 3D, Daddy G and Horace Andy)

2. "Pray for Rain" (ft. Tunde Adebimpe)

3. "Psyche" (Van Rivers & the Subliminal Kid remix) (ft. Martina Topley-Bird)

4. "Bulletproof Love" (Christoff Berg remix) (ft. Guy Garvey)