Mark Berube Unveils 'Russian Dolls'

Mark Berube Unveils 'Russian Dolls'
Two years after Mark Berube issued his June in Siberia LP with his Patriotic Few, the Montreal tunesmith has announced a solo follow-up titled Russian Dolls. The record hits stores November 5 through Bonsound.

A press release notes that while billed to Berube alone, the 11-song set was plotted out with co-conspirator Kristina Koropecki, who brought "layers of cello, autoharp, saw and a classical music vocabulary to the mix." As if unfolding like a set of matryoshka dolls, the recording apparently also reveals organs, marimbas, synths and upright pianos as it goes along. The LP was recorded with Besnard Lakes' Jace Lasek at Montreal's Breakglass Studios.

Ornate and subtly psychedelic sneak peek "Carnival," which you can stream below, is described as being about "modern malaise and frustrations," while the Katie Moore-sung "Queen & Country" is apparently "like waking from an Alice in Wonderland sleep."

Berube will support the impending set this fall with a series of shows around Ontario and Quebec. You'll find the details beneath the album info.

Russian Dolls:

1. Russian Dolls
2. Confessions to a Streetlight
3. Carnival
4. Ethiopia
5. Oak Tree
6. Queen and Country
7. Mississippi Prom
8. Cardinal Cloven Light
9. The Good, The Bad and the Photograph
10. Another Century
11. Beer Garden 

Tour dates:

10/29 Toronto, ON - The Dakota
11/05 Montreal, QC - Lancement at Cabaret du Mile-End
11/16 Victoriaville, QC - Vieux St Pierre
11/22-23 Montreal, QC – Divan Orange (M for Montreal)
11/29 Gatineau, QC - La  Basoche
11/30 Quebec City, QC - Le Cercle
12/03 Toronto, ON - The Dakota