The Luyas Announce 'Animator'

The Luyas Announce 'Animator'
Back in the spring, Montreal indie pop experimentalists the Luyas announced they had jumped ship from Canadian imprint Idée Fixe to Paper Bag for their follow-up to 2011's Too Beautiful to Work. At the time, the band revealed they were in the mixing stages for the new LP, and now they have the album in the can and ready to go.

Called Animator, the full-length hits shelves October 16 via Paper Bag in Canada and on Dead Oceans in the U.S. The ten-song outing was tracked by brass player Pietro Amato at Montreal's Treatment Room, with recording sessions starting up this past February. The set was then mixed by Besnard Lake's Jace Lasek at his Breakglass Studios.

Apparently, the album was inspired by the sudden death of a friend that took place shortly after recording began, marking the disc as a cathartic experience that helped the band deal with the loss. Existentialist nine-minute opener "Montuno" is said to be an "account of a hallucination about the repetition of days, the split seconds that define us, and the strangeness of the certainty of death."

Animator is also said to have a "hypnotic effect," and further explores the dynamics between singer Jesse Stein's vocals and the rhythm section of Mathieu Charbonneau and Mark Wheaton's trance-inducing work. The record also features horn and string arrangements from Amato and Arcade Fire's Sarah Neufeld, respectively.

Below the tracklist, you can check out the new track "Fifty Fifty."


1. Montuno

2. Fifty Fifty

3. The Quiet Way

4. Face

5. Your Name's Mostly Water

6. Earth Turner

7. Talking Mountains

8. Traces

9. Crimes Machine

10. Channeling