Liturgy Offshoot Survival Announce Thrill Jockey Debut

Liturgy Offshoot Survival Announce Thrill Jockey Debut
Brooklyn black metal outfit Liturgy have seemingly been M.I.A. since issuing their 2011 Thrill Jockey debut Aesthethica, but vocalist/guitarist Hunter Hunt-Hendrix has announced he'll be delivering an LP for the label with his other band Survival. The outfit's self-titled debut arrives May 14.

A press release for the band says Hunt-Hendrix and band members Greg Smith and Jeff Bobula deliver "dark and meditative heavy rock" informed by post-hardcore, Black Sabbath, Magma, Aphrodite's Child, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Aaron Copeland and the Smashing Pumpkins. The nine-song outing was recorded by Colin Marston (Krallice, Dysrhythmia) at the Thousand Caves in Queens, NY.

Survival had previously existed under the name the Birthday Boyz, with the press release explaining that the songs on the upcoming LP having undergone years of tweaking before arriving in their final state. While the album is a couple months off from hitting retailers, you can stream newly unveiled number "Tragedy of the Mind," a steadily brooding piece featuring progressive, abacus-cracking math-rock riffs and ominously calm vocal melodies, down below.

A U.S. tour is in the works, but details have yet to be delivered.


1. Tragedy of the Mind

2. Original Pain

3. Freedom 1

4. Second Freedom

5. Since Sun

6. Our Way

7. Freedom 3

8. Tragedy Reprise

9. Triumph of the Good