Lightning Dust Return with 'Fantasy,' Share New Song

Lightning Dust Return with 'Fantasy,' Share New Song
As Stephen McBean launches his Obliterations project, his Black Mountain cohorts Amber Webber and Josh Wells will busying themselves with the release of their latest album as Lightning Dust. Fantasy is out on June 25 through Jagjaguwar.

The album was recorded at the band's own Vancouver studio, the Balloon Factory. It was composed using Webber's acoustic guitar and Wells' Wurlitzer piano, and the results reportedly ended up being more electronic than they expected. Wells used an MPC2000 sequencer/sampler during the sessions, while Webber emphasized her pop leanings.

According to a press release, this third LP "finds its inspiration in skeletal synth pop, modern R&B beats, the films of John Carpenter and...absolute minimalism." The songs are variously described as evoking riot grrrl, new wave, and acoustic intimacy.

The collection includes the 2011 7-inch cut "Never Again," which appeared on a split release with Hard Drugs. You can see the full tracklist for Fantasy below and the album art above.

Below, stream the synth-driven "Diamond," which taps into the cinematic feel of 1980s pop. If you're suitably impressed, the album can be pre-ordered here; it's available either in standard vinyl, CD or digital formats, or as a deluxe package that comes with all three formats, plus a poster and a limited-edition 7-inch.

This album is the follow-up to 2009's Infinite Light.


1. Diamond
2. Reckless and Wild
3. Mirror
4. Moon
5. Fire Me Up
6. Loaded Gun
7. In the City Tonight
8. Fire, Flesh and Bone
9. Agatha
10. Never Again