Kylesa Detail 'Ultraviolet'

Kylesa Detail 'Ultraviolet'
Last month, we learned that Savannah, GA crust explorers Kylesa were about to hit back with a new LP called Ultraviolet, and the band have now unveiled some more details behind the set.

We already knew that the album's 11 tracks were recorded by the band's Phillip Cope at the Jam Room in Columbia, SC, but the exact sequencing of the songs has now been revealed. On top of the previously premiered "Unspoken," the band have also let loose a stream of "Quicksand," which further shifts the group from their doom-and-gloom beginnings into a psychedelic swirl of '90s alt-rock and shoegaze tendencies.

You can stream the song, driven by Siamese Dream-style guitar histrionics and Laura Pleasants' floating vocals, over at Spin.

"All of our studio albums have their own unique identity and we've always been a band who strives for something different than what current fads suggest," Pleasants had previously revealed of the impending set. "With Ultraviolet, we took a step inward and wrote music that we felt we had to write; this album centers around the multiple themes of loss and you can feel it in the music. Everyone goes through it during their lifetime and this record reflects that experience."

You can peep the tracklisting down below, and the trippy, bug-and-skull-blending artwork from previous visual collaborator Sean Beaudry up above. As previously reported, Ultraviolet drops May 28 via Season of Mist.


1. Exhale
2. Unspoken
3. Grounded
4. We're Taking This
5. Long Gone
6. What Does It Take
7. Steady Breakdown
8. Low Tide
9. Vulture's Landing
10. Quicksand
11. Drifting