Kompakt Expands 'Pop Ambient' Series, Announces Leandro Fresco Album

Kompakt Expands 'Pop Ambient' Series, Announces Leandro Fresco Album
Since 2001, German imprint Kompakt has maintained an annual release schedule with its Pop Ambient series, a collection of beat-less ambient music from a wide variety of electronic musicians (read Exclaim!'s review of Pop Ambient 2015 here). Even though they release a new compilation every year, however, the label's been left with extra tracks. As such, they've decided to start releasing full-length albums under the Pop Ambient banner.

The first in the series is El Reino Invisible, a full-length album from Buenos Aires composer Leandro Fresco. In a press release, Fresco said, "This record is a journey inside my feelings… it's emotional ambient music made at an emotional time in my life... it is a journey through my memories and also the end of an era in my life."

That said, he insists that it's not a sad release, saying, "I do not associate this album with feelings of sadness, but with hope, light and the summer heat, full of cyan and orange colors." 

Kompakt will release El Reino Invisible on March 2. The album can be pre-ordered here, where there are also seven samples of its music.

Thanks to Resident Advisor for the tip.

El Reino Invisible:

1. La Edad De Oro
2. Los Anios Que Vivimos En Peligro
3. Le Herida Del Soldado
4. La Nueva Orden
5. Los Pasos Vacilantes De Los Reyes
6. El Salto Del Angel
7. Sol De Medianoche
8. El Valle
9. Principe De Viento
10. El Reino Invisible