Julie Doiron Announces 'I Thought of You,' First Solo Album in Nine Years

Listen to lead single "You Gave Me the Key" now

BY Matt BobkinPublished Sep 21, 2021

It's been so many days since Julie Doiron released So Many Days, her last solo album, in 2012. After spending the last nine years making albums with the Wrong Guys (Eamon McGrath and members of Cancer Bats) and Mount Eerie, and translating her songs into Spanish for a series of EPs, she's finally returning to her solo project. I Thought of You is due for release on November 26 via You've Changed Records.

Recorded in February 2020 with the prolific Daniel Romano, Ian Romano and Dany Placard, I Thought of You gives Doiron's introspective folk music an upbeat full band makeover. Lead single and album opener "You Gave Me the Key," out today, starts things off on a rousing note, quickly building from its vocals-and-guitar intro into twanging, foot-stomping splendour.

Said Doiron in a press release about the new single, "This is a song about a new beginning. It's the first one we recorded in the studio for this new album. It makes me really happy and I can't wait for you to hear it!"

As is par for the course for Doiron, I Thought of You also features new versions of older songs, including: "Cancel the Party" from 2003's Julie Doiron / Okkervil River split; "Thought of You" and "Good Reason" from 2016's Greville Tapes, Vol. 2 EP, the former of which was translated in Spanish for 2018's Canta en Español Vol. III;  and "Ran" from 2019's HITS WITH TITS Vol. 6 compilation.

Listen to "You Gave Me the Key" below, and keep scrolling for more information on I Thought of You.

I Thought of You:

1. You Gave Me the Key
2. Thought of You
3. Dreamed I Was
4. Just When I Thought
5. Et Mon Amour
6. Good Reason
7. Cancel the Party
8. How Can We?
9. Darkness to Light
10. Ran
11. The Letters We Sent
12. They Wanted Me to Say
13. Back to the Water

I Thought of You is available for pre-order.

Latest Coverage