John Legend Updates Controversial Lyrics on "Baby It's Cold Outside"

The revamped holiday classic will appear on a reissue of 'A Legendary Christmas'
John Legend Updates Controversial Lyrics on 'Baby It's Cold Outside'
John Legend will release a deluxe reissue of his Christmas album A Legendary Christmas next month, and on the re-release, the singer will include his version of the controversial "Baby It's Cold Outside" — complete with new lyrics.

For the track, Legend has enlisted Kelly Clarkson to sing the female vocals, but the two have updated the Christmas classic with some new lyrics. The change in lyrics come via John himself and Insecure star Natasha Rothwell.

See those below.

I really can't stay (Baby it's cold outside) / I've gotta go away (I can call you a ride) / This evening has been (So glad that you dropped in) / So very nice (Time spent with you is paradise) / My mother will start to worry (I'll call a car and tell 'em to hurry).

The original was written in 1944 and famously performed by Dean Martin. In recent years, the song has been criticized for its controversial lyrics, with some listeners suggesting that the woman in the song sounds like she has been the victim of sexual harassment and date rape. View the original lyrics below.

I really can't stay (but baby, it's cold outside) / I've got to go away (but baby, it's cold outside) / This evening has been (been hoping that you'd drop in) / So very nice (i'll hold your hands, they're just like ice) / My mother will start to worry (beautiful what's your hurry?) / My father will be pacing the floor (listen to the fireplace roar) / So really I'd better scurry (beautiful please don't hurry) / But maybe just a half a drink more (put some records on while I pour) / The neighbors might think (baby, it's bad out there) / Say what's in this drink? (no cabs to be had out there)

Legend has been outspoken about believing women who are victims of sexual abuse. Earlier this year, he spoke out against R. Kelly in the Surviving R. Kelly documentary series, saying he doesn't "give a fuck about protecting a serial child rapist."

Legend's original A Legendary Christmas came out last November, the same year the singer won his Creative Arts Emmy Award, making him the youngest EGOT winner of all time.

A Legendary Christmas: The Deluxe Edition will feature four added tracks. In addition to "Baby It's Cold Outside," the reissue will include "This Christmas," "My Favorite Things" and "Christmas in New Orleans."

The deluxe edition will arrive on November 8 via Columbia Records. See the updated tracklist below.

A Legendary Christmas: The Deluxe Edition:

1. What Christmas Means to Me (ft. Stevie Wonder on harmonica)
2. Bring Me Love
3. This Christmas
4. My Favorite Things
5. Baby, It's Cold Outside (ft. Kelly Clarkson)
6. Christmas in New Orleans
7. Silver Bells
8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (ft. Esperanza Spalding)
9. No Place Like Home
10. Merry Christmas Baby / Give Love on Christmas Day
11. Christmas Time Is Here
12. By Christmas Eve
13. Purple Snowflakes
14. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)
15. Please Come Home for Christmas
16. Wrap Me Up in Your Love
17. Waiting for Christmas
18. Merry Merry Christmas