The Helio Sequence Announce New Album, Premiere Track

The Helio Sequence Announce New Album, Premiere Track
Long-running Portland indie outfit the Helio Sequence are going the self-titled route for their sixth full-length LP, which longtime label Sub Pop will put into retailers May 19.

The record, which follows 2012's Negotiations, found the group's Brandon Summers and Benjamin Weikel crafting the album in response to a number of Portland pals playing "The 20-Song Game." A press release explains that the game entails songwriters showing up at studios to "spend all day recording 20 complete songs."

The Helio Sequence tried this over the course of a month at their Old Jantzen Building spot last May, with 26 songs coming out of those sessions. Friends and family helped the band whittle the album down to 10 choice cuts, which were mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound.

You can sample harmonious, lightly shoegazing single "Stoic Resemblance," which has been fit with a Crayola-coloured set of visuals from director Emanuele Kabu, down below.

Pre-orders for The Helio Sequence are already up on Sub Pop's online store. Limited quantities will come packaged with The Sunrise Demos, a bonus CD featuring 11 demos prepped during the making of The Helio Sequence.

The Helio Sequence:

1. Battle Lines

2. Stoic Resemblance

3. Red Shifting

4. Upward Mobility

5. Leave Or Be Yours

6. Deuces

7. Inconsequential Ties

8. Seven Hours

9. Phantom Shore

10. Never Going Back

Tour dates:

03/31 Seattle, WA - The Triple Door