The Helio Sequence Announce 'Negotiations'

The Helio Sequence Announce 'Negotiations'
It's been over four years since Portland, OR popsmiths the Helio Sequence delivered their Exclaim!-approved Keep Your Eyes Ahead, but the band get back into the swing of things this fall when they issue their next set, Negotiations.

Sub Pop has confirmed that it will deliver the LP on September 11, and describe the recording as "the loosest, and most free-form the duo has ever done." Apparently, this may have something to do with the fact that the troupe were displaced from their usual base of operations in 2009 when they received a call on tour explaining that their practice space/studio had been flooded with over a foot of water. Luckily, most of the band's best equipment was in their tour van.

Musical partners drummer/keyboardist Benjamin Weikel and singer/guitarist Brandon Summers self-produced the 11-song set, which is said to be a shimmery collection musing on "solitude, memory, hope, misgivings, loss, atonement, and inner dialogues." You can get a sample of what's to come in the album trailer down below.

The quick clip features an unidentified sigh-worthy number, and finds the pair fiddling around in the studio and cruising a city landscape at night.

The band will apparently be hitting the road to tour shortly after Negotiations hits retailers, but so far only an appearance at Seattle's Bumbershoot Festival on September 1 has been announced.


1. One More Time
2. October
3. Downward Spiral
4. The Measure
5. Hall of Mirrors
6. Harvester of Souls
7. Open Letter
8. When the Shadow Falls
9. Silence on Silence
10. December
11. Negotiations