HBO Taps Julian Casablancas, Iggy Pop, Charli XCX for 'Vinyl' Soundtrack

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Jan 15, 2016

Mick Jagger and Martin Scorsese's long-planned Vinyl drama premieres on HBO next month and will be chock full of tunes helping encapsulate '70s-period record label excess. A collection of vintage soul and rock pieces will be packaged together for an upcoming soundtrack release, while a series of digital EPs are set to feature songs contributed to the TV show by Charli XCX, Iggy Pop, Strokes singer Julian Casablancas and more.

First up will be Vinyl: Music from the HBO Original Series - Volume 1, which hits retailers February 12 through Atlantic/Warner Brothers, two days ahead of the series premiere.

The 18-song set features plenty of fairly era-appropriate material that appears in the first episode of the series. This includes songs from the likes of Edgar Winter, Foghat, Otis Redding and Mott the Hoople. New York Dolls singer David Johansen, who is portrayed by Christian Peslak in the show, contributed re-recorded versions of "Personality Crisis" and "Stranded in the Jungle."

Also included will be Sturgill Simpson's "Sugar Daddy," which serves as Vinyl's theme song, and a song by Nasty Bits, a fictional band that appears in the show, which happens to be led by Jagger's son, James. The band is filled out by members of Beach Fossils.

You'll find the full tracklisting down below.

In addition to the forthcoming physical soundtrack release, a series of digital EPs preserving music heard in the show are set to be launched throughout the season.

Though the details have yet to arrive in full, artists that will be heard throughout the various episodes include Charlie Wilson, Iggy Pop, Chris Cornell, Julian Casablancas, Charli XCX, Trey Songz, the Arcs and Royal Blood. These will later be gathered for a second soundtrack.

Vinyl: Music From the HBO Original Series - Volume 1:

1. Ty Taylor "The World Is Yours"
2. David Johansen "Personality Crisis"
3. Kaleo "No Good"
4. Sturgill Simpson "Sugar Daddy"
5. Ruth Brown "Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean"
6. Otis Redding "Mr. Pitiful"
7. Dee Dee Warwick "Suspicious Minds"
8. Mott the Hoople "All The Way From Memphis"
9. David Johansen "Stranded In The Jungle"
10. Chris Kenner "I Like It Like That"
11. Ty Taylor "Cha Cha Twist"
12. The Jimmy Castor Bunch "It's Just Begun"
13. Soda Machine "Want Ads"
14. The Meters "Hand Clapping Song"
15. Soda Machine "Slippin' Into Darkness"
16. Edgar Winter "Frankenstein"
17. Nasty Bits "Rotten Apple"
18. Foghat "I Just Want To Make Love To You"

Latest Coverage