Gorillaz Officially Return with Plastic Beach

Gorillaz Officially Return with <i>Plastic Beach</i>
It's been five years since the last Gorillaz album, 2005's Demon Days. Now, the Damon Albarn-led animated band have finally announced the release details of their third album, Plastic Beach, due out March 9 via Parlophone/EMI.

Based on the long list of high-profile guest musicians contributing to the album, it's easy to see why it took Albarn and his main collaborator, cartoonist Jamie Hewlett, so long to create the record. Some of the most notable cameos include Lou Reed, Mos Def, Snoop Dogg, De La Soul and former Clash members Mick Jones and Paul Simonon.

As to what to expect from the album, a press release offered the this cryptic description: "The band have taken up residence, recording on a secret floating island deep in the South Pacific, a Plastic Beach HQ, made up of the detritus, debris and washed up remnants of humanity. This Plastic Beach is the furthest point from any landmass on Earth; the most deserted spot on the planet."

The Mos Def and Bobby Womack-assisted single "Stylo" is due out on January 26, but it leaked onto the Internet this morning. The label is cracking down, so it might take some effort to find. Concerning the leak, fictional bassist Murdoc Niccals wrote on his Twitter, "A leak! A leak! Plastic Beach has sprung a leak! One of those Russian pirates has put a bullet hole on my island! My single's leaked! STYLO!"

This latest leak follows an instrumental demo of the song, which hit the web last year.

Plastic Beach:

1. "Orchestral Intro (feat. Sinfonia ViVA)
2. "Welcome to the World of the Plastic Beach" (feat. Snoop Dogg and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. "White Flag" (feat. Kano, Bashy and The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
4. "Rhinestone Eyes"
5. "Stylo" (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
6. "Superfast Jellyfish" (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
7. "Empire Ants" (feat. Little Dragon)
8. "Glitter Freeze" (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. "Some Kind of Nature" (feat. Lou Reed)
10. "On Melancholy Hill"
11. "Broken:
12. "Sweepstakes" (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. "Plastic Beach" (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. "To Binge" (feat. Little Dragon)
15. "Cloud of Unknowing" (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16. "Pirate Jet"