Fucked Up Release Free Online Mixtape

Fucked Up Release Free Online Mixtape
Nobody knows the art of the seven-inch like hardcore genre-benders Fucked Up. The band have released nearly 40 of the things to date, not to mention they have another one coming Record Store Day with 11 different covers.

So, it's no surprise that Fucked Up drummer Jonah Falco has compiled FACT Mix 127, his contribution to an ongoing series of mixtapes curated by musicians for FACT Magazine, entirely from seven-inches.

With his mix comes Falco's feelings about the format and its role in the world of recorded music. His unedited statement, followed by a list of the best ways to use a seven-inch:

The seven-inch single has a special status as a gathering place for songs. Saying something is 'singular' is probably a bit too literal, but there are certain focuses you can only apply on a 45 that will never work on a long player. So the single is the place to do that 'something else' before you really have to get down to it. Here are some 'places' the single occupies:

The place for bands who you should take in small doses in case of indigestion.
The place where bands from North America learn about cool bands from other countries
The place place for covers
The place for a gateway to another era
The place for precious little B Sides
The place for a taste of things to come
THE place to unleash your secret project band on the world
The place for a good song
The place for your one-man band
The place to break your 'new sound'
The secret hiding place of inspiration
The place to be before you were famous
The place for an alternate version
The place you might not ever own
The place for a shoulda been hit
The place for a joke
The place for an unavoidable classic

Falco's FACT Mix 127 is available for download/streaming as one continuous MP3 here. And yes, it's totally free.

FACT Mix 127:

1. Bedboys -€“ "Pace non vuol dire solo niente Guerra"
2. City X -€“ "Coverboy"
3. 48 Chairs -€“ "Psycle Sluts"
4. Zeros -€“ "Wild Weekend"
5. Vee Dee -€“ "Her Eyes"
6. Slaughter (Canada) -€“ "Nocturnal Hell"
7. Fearless Iranians From Hell -€“ "Land of the Free"
8. Girlschool -€“ "Emergency"
9. Pete Fender -€“ "Promises"
10. Blitz -€“ "New Age"
11. Moondogs -€“ "Ya Do Don't Ya"
12. Englands Glory -€“ "City of Fun"
13. Wire -€“ "Outdoor Miner (SINGLE version)"
14. Fix -€“ "Vengeance"
15. Skids -€“ "Saints are Coming"
16. Napalm Death -€“ "You Suffer"
17. Sex Pistols -€“ "God Save the Queen"