From the Mouth of the Sun Sleep Stations

From the Mouth of the Sun Sleep Stations
To follow 2017's Hymn Binding, From the Mouth of the Sun extend the boundaries of their sonic frontier in an enthralling EP that packs a lot of minimalist ambient orchestral flavour into a short runtime.
Aaron Martin and Dag Rosenqvist kick things off with an acoustic guitar and swooning string piece that carries a fierce torch for the melancholic romanticism of classic western film scores. It flows perfectly into the more sombre cello-driven piece "Reaching When Nothing Is There," which would work wonderfully in a European arthouse drama.
The next transition is equally smooth, but the shift in tone is much more dramatic. "About the Life of Stars" is as spacey and evocative of cosmic existential questioning as its title suggests, contentedly letting a quiet wash of white noise act as the only support for a beautifully sparse drone and simple melodic reverberating swell.
Title track "Sleep Stations" continues the drifting celestial motif, but incorporates delicate, echo-haunted string arrangements, while penultimate track, "About the Death of Stars," ratchets up the drama with equal parts glorious bombast and tender beauty. All too quickly, the EP ends with the lovely electric piano and gentle aching strings of "A Place We Cannot See," which itself feels so very brief at just a minute and a half.
It's a great listen that'll leave fans of ambient contemporary cinematic music (like A Winged Victory for the Sullen) eager to hear whatever From the Mouth of the Sun do next. (Lost Tribe Sound)