Franz Ferdinand Confirm Album Title, Tracklisting, Release Date

Franz Ferdinand Confirm Album Title, Tracklisting, Release Date
After months of detailed play-by-play, Franz Ferdinand have confirmed a release date for their long-awaited third album, and they’ve even given it a name. The Scottish post-punkers have revealed that January 27 will be the record’s due date and it will bear the title Tonight: Franz Ferdinand, not Bite Hard as previously reported by some media outlets.

The follow-up to 2005’s You Could Have It So Much Better will drop via the band’s usual label home Domino in the UK and Europe, and come courtesy of Sony/Epic here in North America. After ditching producer Brian Higgins (Xenomania, Girls Aloud, Sugababes), the Franz have brought on Dan Carey to produce Tonight, who’s perhaps best known for his work with Hot Chip and Lily Allen.

And while there’s no word yet on the tracklisting or any looming North American tour, the group’s front-man and one-time Vancouver resident Alex Kapranos recently had this to say to BBC News about what we can expect from Tonight:

The last record was fast, furious, frantic, 150 beats per minute. It was like a teenager having sex. This one's a bit more assured and a bit friendlier for the dance floor. It's about 104/105bpm… It does sound different, and there are different instruments on the record, different tempos, a different attitude to making it… But it's always going to sound like a Franz Ferdinand record when it's the four of us making it. It's very much a dance record again this time.

Tonight: Franz Ferdinand:

1. "Ulysses"
2. Turn It On
3. "No You Girls Never Know"
4. "Twilight Omens"
5. "Send Him Away"
6. "Live Alone"
7. "Bite Hard"
8. "What She Came For"
9. "Can't Stop Feeling"
10. "Lucid Dreams"
11. "Dream Again"
12. "Katherine Kiss Me"

Franz Ferdinand "All My Friends”