Frankie Rose Unveils Her Debut Album with the Outs

Frankie Rose Unveils Her Debut Album with the Outs
Two weeks ago, we learned that Dum Dum Girls drummer Frankie Rose had quit the band to focus on her own project, Frankie Rose and the Outs. The multi-instrumentalist, who is also a former member of Vivian Girls and Crystal Stilts, has wasted no time in announcing her self-titled debut LP with the Outs, which is due out on September 21.

Like the earlier single "Thee Only One," the full-length will be released via Slumberland. According to a press release, "Frankie Rose and the Outs have their heads in the clouds a bit more than Rose's previous projects." Mixing noisy pop with hazy balladry, the album reportedly sounds "as if the Cocteau Twins and Shangri-Las tracked a split LP with the help of a time machine and a freshly-acquitted Phil Spector."

According to Rose herself, "I tried to make this album as hi-fi as possible while sticking to the sounds that I've always loved," meaning we're bound to hear lots of reverb and a healthy dose of fuzz.

The 11-song offering includes "Thee Only One," as well as yet another cover of "You Can Make Me Feel Bad" by pop experimentalist Arthur Russell.

Click on the embedded video below to listen to "Thee Only One," which you can also download for free over at Slumberland's website. You can listen to "Little Brown Haired Girls" and "You Can Make Me Feel Bad" over at the band's MySpace.

Frankie Rose and the Outs:

1. "Hollow Life"
2. "Candy"
3. "Little Brown Haired Girls"
4. "Lullubye for Roads and Miles"
5. "That's What People Told Me"
6. "Memo"
7. "Must Be Nice"
8. "Girlfriend Island"
9. "You Can Make Me Feel Bad"
10. "Don't Tred"
11. "Save Me"