Fennesz and Jim O'Rourke Super-Trio Fenn O'Berg Ready Reissues, New Album

Fennesz and Jim O'Rourke Super-Trio Fenn O'Berg Ready Reissues, New Album
With Mego this week re-releasing Jim O'Rourke's laptop masterpiece I'm Happy and I'm Singing and a 1, 2, 3, 4, it only makes sense that the label keeps the reissue train going and resurrects the work of Fenn O'Berg, the long-silent electronic super-trio made up of O'Rourke, Christian Fennesz and Peter Rehberg. And that's what Mego is doing on June 23, when the label will repackage and reissue both Fenn O'Berg albums - 1999's The Magic Sound of Fenn O'Berg and 2002's The Return of Fenn O'Berg - as a two-CD package simply called Magic & Return.

Along with including both original albums in their entirety the reissue will get some of the ol' remastering treatment, some new artwork and the inclusion of two bonus tracks from the same period. Magic will get the track "5,6m Of Fenn O'Berg," while Return will feature the previously unreleased "Adidas Sun Tanned Avant Man."

And while this redo may not have enough extras to warrant hardcore followers to invest in Magic & Return, fans will be pleased to know that Fenn O'Berg are currently plotting a third record. According to the folks of Mego, O'Rourke, Fennesz and Rehberg will get back together this October in Tokyo to record a new studio album, which is scheduled for an early 2010 release.

In the meantime, here are the tracks on Magic & Return:

Disc One: Magic Sound

1. "Shinjuku Baby Pt. 1"
2. "Steam Powered Oscillation"
3. "Horst und Snail mit Markus"
4. "Gürtel Eins"
5. "Escape From Hamburg"
6. "Shinjuku Baby Pt. 2"
7. "Gürtel Zwei"
8. "Fenn O'Berg Theme"
9. "5,6m Of) Fenn O'Berg"

Disc Two: Return

1. "Floating My Boat"
2. "A Viennese Tragedy"
3. "Riding Again"
4. "We Will Diffuse You"
5. "Adidas Sun Tanned Avant Man"