Extra Happy Ghost!!! Announces Chad VanGaalen-Produced 'Modern Horses' LP

Extra Happy Ghost!!! Announces Chad VanGaalen-Produced 'Modern Horses' LP
Calgary-based experimental popster Extra Happy Ghost!!! has been kickin' it for a couple years now, but up until now, the project has specialized in smaller offerings. In 2009, EHG!!! dropped its debut EP, How the Beach Boys Sound to Those with No Feelings, which was mostly made up of leader Matthew Swann's lo-fi home recordings. Next up was an Exclaim!-approved split seven-inch with Lab Coast. Feeling a little feisty, Swann has decided to go whole hog with their next release, the nine-song Modern Horses.

Recorded last fall at Chad VanGaalen's Yoko Eno studios with the Calgary songwriter producing, the collection features "nine sparse and anxious pop songs, functioning as a whole and flowing seamlessly," according to the press release. You can download the spacey, spectral garage pop jangler "So at One" here or stream it below to get a taste.

While that track is an upbeat blast of melody, Modern Horses was named after a bummer incident in Cowtown back in 2005 where nine equine creatures jumped off a bridge as people attempted to corral them into the city's downtown core.

Modern Horses comes out July 26 via Saved by Radio/Saved by Vinyl.

Modern Horses

1. "Mercy, Mercy"

2. "So at One"

3. "Fire on Fire"

4. "Pitiful"

5. "Brain Damage"

6. "Feed Wolves Luck"

7. "J23439"

8. "Haunted House"

9. "Modern Horses"

Extra Happy Ghost - So At One by killbeatmusic