Echo and the Bunnymen Return with 'Meteorites' Album

Echo and the Bunnymen Return with 'Meteorites' Album
Last year, long-running UK act Echo and the Bunnymen suggested that they had a new record on the way called The Garden of Meedin'. That release never surfaced, but they have finally announced plans for a new LP.

Whether or not it's the same release with a new title or an entirely different collection of songs is unclear, but Echo and the Bunnymen will follow their 2009 effort The Fountain with a new LP called Meteorites.

The album was produced by Youth (Killing Joke, the Verve) and performed by Ian McCulloch alongside original Bunnyman Will Sergeant. They were joined by guitarist Gordy Goudie and bassist Stephen Brannan.

In a press release, McCulloch had some big words for the new release. "Meteorites, the new Bunnymen album... at long last we've made the worthy successor to Crocodiles, Heaven Up Here, Porcupine and Ocean Rain," he said. "Meteorites is what Echo and the Bunnymen mean and are meant to be — up there in heaven — untouchable, celestial, beautiful and real.  It has changed my life."

Meteorites will arrive on June 3 via 429 Records. The album's tracklisting is available below.


1. Lovers On The Run
2. Is This A Breakdown
3. Holy Moses
4. Meteorites
5. Explosions
6. Icarus
7. I Loved The Devil
8. Constantinople
9. Market Town
10. New Horizons