The Drums Announce 'Encyclopedia' LP

The Drums Announce 'Encyclopedia' LP
It turns out that a tour and a 7-inch aren't the only things that the Drums have planned for 2014. The poppy post-punk duo have announced that a new album is on the way, as Encyclopedia will arrive on September 23.

The recently shared "Magic Mountain" appears here as the first track. From the sound of things, the dark, noisy approach of that song could be indicative of the mood of the album.

"Encyclopedia is full of magic and surprise while maintaining a serious, more weighty tone throughout," frontman Jonny Pierce said [via Spin]. "We were feeling very angry, confused, and alone when we made this album, and we wanted to be very honest this time around, even if being honest meant making some people uncomfortable. We've left the beach for higher ground, always searching for hope."

Pierce previously said he and band co-founder Jacob Graham have returned to working as a duo as of late. The album's tracklist is below and its cover is above. See the band's impending tour schedule here.

This is the follow-up to 2011's Portamento. Since then Piece has promised a solo album, but this still hasn't arrived.


1. Magic Mountain

2. I Can't Pretend

3. I Hope Times Doesn't Change Him

4. Kiss Me Again

5. Let Me

6. Break My Heart

7. Face Of God

8. U.S. National Park

9. Deep In My Heart

10. Bell Laboratories

11. There Is Nothing Left

12. Wild Geese