DJ Premier and Royce da 5'9" Detail PRhyme LP

DJ Premier and Royce da 5'9' Detail PRhyme LP
Following the announcement earlier this fall that Slaughterhouse's Royce da 5'9" had teamed up with Gang Starr producer DJ Premier for a new project called PRhyme, they have now gone ahead and given up the details behind their debut release.

Due December 9, the duo's self-titled PRhyme will be issued through their own PRhyme Records. An interview with Rap Is Outta Control had Premier explaining that the project had initially started out with the intention of using the whole Slaughterhouse crew, but scheduling shifted things towards it being a team-up between just him and Royce. It had also been plotted out as a five-song EP but blossomed into a nine-track album.

The project is a first for Premier, in that it finds him exclusively using samples cribbed from the catalogue of composer Adrian Yonge (Black Dynamite, Twelve Reasons to Die).

"I've never sampled just one artist, I'm known for my reputation and my creativity," DJ Premier had previously said in a statement. "I wanted it to be my traditional thing where I sample everything I find, but I am really proud how the project came out and Royce is one hell of a pusher."

A tracklist confirms the appearances of several guest MCs, with Slaughterhouse in fact representing on closing cut "Microphone Preem." Elsewhere, Killer Mike and Schoolboy Q add bars to "Underground Kings" and Common shows up on "Wishin'," while other guest spots are taken by Mac Miller, Ab Soul, Dwele and Jay Electronica.

You'll find the tracklisting info, as well as a radio rip of the record's "Courtesy," down below. You can also pre-order the album on iTunes here.


2. Dat Sound Good (ft. Mac Miller, Ab Soul)
3. U Looz
4. You Should Know (ft. Dwele)
5. Courtesy
6. Wishin' (ft. Common)
7. To Me, To U (ft. Jay Electronica)
8. Underground Kings (ft. Killer Mike, Schoolboy Q)
9. Microphone Preem (ft. Slaughterhouse)