Denim Daddies Announce Debut Album 'Northern Goods'

The project includes a cover of John Prine's "Grandpa Was a Carpenter"

BY Ben OkazawaPublished Mar 1, 2024

Exclaim! Class of 2020 alums the Denim Daddies have announced that their debut album Northern Goods will arrive on March 20. 

The Edmonton country rockers haven't released a project since 2018's companion three-pack singles Drinkin' and Thinkin'

Today, they're previewing Northern Goods with lead single "Livin' on the Road," which they premiered live in Calgary last year. 

In announcing the complete tracklist, the band has revealed that they'll pay homage to late, great country singer John Prine with a cover of his 1973 hit "Grandpa Was a Carpenter."

As for the rest of the songs, bassist and vocalist Kurtis Cockerill has promised that they might sound familiar to concertgoers who've seen the Denim Daddies live.

"Some of these songs are our oldest ones that weren't yet recorded, written as far back as early 2018," he said. "These songs are all of our favourites to play on stage. We feel they have a tenacity to them that makes for a very cohesive sounding album."

Check out "Livin' on the Road" and the Northern Goods tracklist below ahead of its arrival at the end of the month.


Northern Goods:

1. Livin' on the Road 
2. Grandpa Was a Bushman 
3. Seems to Me 
4. Whisky Waltz 
5. Grandpa Was a Carpenter 
6. Brushstrokes  
7. The Cattle Pasture

Latest Coverage