Demetra Lines Up Rococode, Waking Eyes Members for 'Lone Migration'

Demetra Lines Up Rococode, Waking Eyes Members for 'Lone Migration'
Southern Manitoba's Demetra has travelled the world, studying yoga on the Thai islands and hanging her visual art in Austria, but back home she's made a name for herself on the folk circuit. Following a string of hometown shows and an appearance opening for Hawksley Workman at the Winnipeg Folk Festival, Demetra has prepared an album that will get her music out of the Prairies.

A press release explains that her upcoming debut, Lone Migration, is "an exploration of her experiences rooted deep in personal images of the icy tundra and the endless Arctic Sea," but charting the album's course was less lonely than its sounds. Though the album is apparently anchored in sparse arrangements, Demetra's tales of "broken hearts, ice maidens, icy spirits and surviving in the wild" were tracked with good company.

The singer-songwriter put songs to tape with the assistance of producer/performer Matt Peters (Royal Canoe, the Waking Eyes), Andrew Braun (Rococode, Hannah Georgas) and Paul Bergman, and the set also features an appearance from Inuit throat singer/John K. Samson collaborator Nikki Komaksiutiksak.

You can check out the bouncy but spacious roots folk number "Hey Stranger," as well as the tracklisting, down below.

Lone Migration comes out January 17 via Head in the Sand.

Lone Migration:

1. "Emergency Exit"

2. "I Am Written"

3. "Hey Stranger"

4. "Forgiving Field"

5. "Maiden of Ice"

6. "Wreck of Abandon"

7. "Lone Migration"

8. "Hunt and Gather"

9. "The Letting Go"

10. "Arctic Sea"

11. "Hold Me Close"

Demetra - Hey Stranger by killbeat music