Deerhunter Announce New Album: 'Monomania'

Deerhunter Announce New Album: 'Monomania'
Dreamy Atlanta rock act Deerhunter previously indicated that they had a new album on the way, with frontman Bradford Cox describing it as "a very avant-garde rock'n'roll record." Now, the band have detailed the forthcoming collection, which is called Monomania and will be out on May 7 via 4AD.

The album, the band's fifth, was recorded at Brooklyn's Rare Book Room Studio with producer Nicolas Vernhes. It features bassist Josh McKay, who replaced previous bassist Joshua Fauver.

According to a rather cryptically worded press release, this "Mystery disc of NOCTURNAL GARAGE... is avant garde(?) but only in context not form (original intent of avant garde (1912-59) / before logic: FOG MACHINE / LEATHER / NEON." Make of that what you will.

Check out the cover art above and the tracklist below. As usual, Cox will sing the majority of the songs, but Lockett Pundt will take the lead on "The Missing." Previous reports also suggested that the band had whittled down 250 tracks to a "strong dozen." Sure enough, there are 12 songs included on the album.


1. Neon Junkyard
2. Leather Jacket II
3. The Missing
4. Pensacola
5. Dream Captain
6. Blue Agent
7. T.H.M.
8. Sleepwalking
9. Back To The Middle
10. Monomania
11. Nitebike
12. Punk (La Vie Antérieure)