Deep Dark Woods Sign to Six Shooter for New LP, Share Album Track and Canadian Tour Dates

Deep Dark Woods Sign to Six Shooter for New LP, Share Album Track and Canadian Tour Dates
Following the release of their 2009 breakthrough Winter Hours, Saskatoon, SK's much-loved alt-country indie rock band the Deep Dark Woods have signed with Six Shooter Records, announcing plans for a new album called The Place I Left Behind and yet another Canadian tour.

A press release explains that the new release will involve many of the same sonic elements as their last release, stating, "A rainstorm over the desert of modern music, The Place I Left Behind offers murder ballads alongside scrappy rockers, lovesick hymnals and slow-dance waltzes. The album illuminates folk traditions without stripping the shadows of roots music history."

The Place I Left Behind will be available on August 2 via Six Shooter, and in the meantime, you can download the lead-off track "West Side Street" here and/or stream it at the bottom of the page. You can also check out the album art above and the tracklist below.

In addition to the new release, the Deep Dark Woods will make several Canadian tour stops over the next few months. All tour dates are available below.

The Place I Left Behind:

1. "West Side Street"
2. "The Place I Left Behind"
3. "Mary's Gone"
4. "Virginia"
5. "Sugar Mama"
6. "The Banks of the Leopold Canal"
7. "Big City Lights"
8. "Back Alley Blues"
9. "I Just Can't Lose"
10. "Never Prove False"
11. "Dear John"
12. "The Ballad of Frank Dupree"
13. "Oh, What a Life"

Tour dates:

7/8 Canmore, AB - Canmore Hotel

7/9 Calgary, AB - The Palomino

7/14 Saskatoon, SK - Amigos Cantina
7/15-17 Yellowknife, NT - Folk on the Rocks

8/4-7 Edmonton, AB - Edmonton Folk Music Festival
8/12-14 Ear Falls, ON - Trout Forest Music Festival
8/20-21 Kelwood, MB - Harvest Sun Music Festival

8/27 Wood Mountain, SK - Wood Mountain Folk Festival

The Deep Dark Woods - West Side Street by killbeatmusic