De La Soul Drop Surprise EP Ahead of New Album

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Apr 29, 2016

While old-school hip-hop fans had been promised a new album from De La Soul would be released today (April 29), this sadly hasn't happened. To make up for it, the New York trio have instead coughed up a new four-song EP. Going by the self-conscious title of For Your Pain & Suffering, the mini-release is up as a free download as of right now.

The quickie EP has a super loose feel to it, kicking off with a skit called "The Devil Likes Candy" and closing out with a flute-filled, day-in-the-life piece called "Schoolyard Studios." Plug 1 and Plug 2 also get an assist from Dave West on the record's "Beautiful Night."

You can sample all of For Your Pain & Suffering via the player down below.

The new EP comes ahead of the group's Kickstarter-funded new album, And the Anonymous Nobody. It will be De La Soul's first full-length release since 2004's The Grind Date.

Though a final tracklisting has yet to be revealed, the album is expected to feature guest appearances from Damon Albarn, David Byrne, 2 Chainz and Little Dragon.

As you can gather from the cartoon-style cover art attached to For Your Pain & Suffering, which pictures a band member being chased by an angry mob, the new due date for And the Anonymous Nobody is apparently August 26.

Latest Coverage