Dan Deacon Announces 'America' Album, Shares First Single "Lots"

Dan Deacon Announces 'America' Album, Shares First Single 'Lots'
After leaving his longtime home at Carpark for Domino Records late last year, prolific electronic composer Dan Deacon has been uncharacteristically quiet. That will all change this summer, however, as the artist has revealed plans for a new album.

The record is called America, and will mark Deacon's first studio full-length since 2009's Bromst.

Already you can download and/or stream lead single "Lots" below. If the track is any indication of what to expect from America, the album will likely bridge the gap between the exuberant pop of Spiderman of the Rings and Bromst's more complex arrangements. The track definitely offers a lot in its brief runtime, from the usual wild synths to choral backing vocals.

The press release has this to say about America: "The ecstatic, celebratory sounds found on America, are in compelling contrast with the darker thematic undercurrents. The album demonstrates anger, confusion, and apocalyptic anxiety over corporatism and war, but finds consolation in the geography of the United States and in recent social movements both domestic and international."

America will be released on August 28 via Domino, with European audiences getting it the day before.

UPDATE: The album's tracklisting is now available below.


1. Guilford Avenue Bridge
2. True Thrush
3. Lots
4. Prettyboy
5. Crash Jam
6. USA I: Is a Monster
7. USA II: The Great American Desert
8. USA III: Rail
9. USA IV: Manifest