Clutch Prepare for a Big 2010 with Double DVD, New Single, Extensive Reissues and World Tour

Clutch Prepare for a Big 2010 with Double DVD, New Single, Extensive Reissues and World Tour
Maryland groove rockers Clutch have released details of what looks to be a very busy year for the long-running band. In the coming months, they will be releasing a new double DVD, a new single, embarking on a world tour and re-releasing three of their older albums.

First up, the DVD. To be released on May 11, Live at the 9:30 will be a 200-minute, two-DVD set. The first disc will feature a full 90-minute concert, filmed with seven cameras, on December 28, 2009, at the 9:30 Club in Washington, DC. The set features the band playing their '95 self-titled release in its entirety, as well as a selection of other songs; a full tracklisting is below. An audio version of the concert will be available exclusively through iTunes on May 11.

The second disc in the DVD package will feature a 110-minute movie, Fortune Tellers Make a Killing Nowadays. The film offers a behind-the-scenes look at Clutch's touring activities last year. The second DVD will also contain rare old footage dating back to the band's beginnings in '91. Both DVDs were directed by Agent Ogden, who worked with Clutch on their '07 DVD, Full Fathom Five: Video Field Recordings.

To get a bit of excitement going pre-DVD release, the band will release the "Let a Poor Man Be" single on May 3. The single will feature an accompanying video clip and a rare, promo-only EP with unreleased material.

Clutch will then hit the road on June 4 as part of their 2010 world tour, going to the U.S., Canada, Norway, Sweden, Greece, Italy and the UK. Providing support will be the Bakerton Group, a side-project of the band members that focuses on blues/jazz/jam-band material. Both the Bakerton Group and Clutch will appear at Bonnaroo, with Bakerton Group playing on June 11 and Clutch on June 12. Head here for a complete listing of tour dates. No confirmation yet on the Canadian shows.

And as if all that's not going to have Clutch fanatics bouncing off the walls in excitement, there's news of a few juicy-sounding reissues coming down the pipe. The band's own Weathermaker Music will be re-releasing From Beale Street to Oblivion, Robot Hive/Exodus, and Blast Tyrant as expanded CD and digital releases on June 22, August 17, and October 12, respectively. Double-vinyl versions of all three will be available on November 23.

Detailed tracklistings of the reissues are not available yet, but it sounds as if Clutch fans should start getting excited now. In a press release, Weathermaker label manager Jon Nardachone had this to say about the reissues:

The bonus content of the three re-issues will be entirely different. We're still sifting through unreleased Clutch originals, cover songs, live audio, live video, alternate takes, etc. One thing we know for sure is that each re-issue will have updated and upgraded artwork/packaging, as well as additional music from the exact timeframe each CD was first released. This is not about tacking on a couple of unfinished demos to the end of each CD. We're producing these with the knowledge that Clutch fans expect something fresh, yet distinguishably representative of that moment in time. The diehard fan will appreciate these projects in a big way.

Clutch's current album is last year's Strange Cousins from the West.

Live at the 9:30 Club DVD:

DVD 1:

1. "50,000 Unstoppable Watts"

2. "Struck Down"

3. "Minotaur"

4. "Let A Poor Man Be"

5. "Big News 1"

6. "Big News 2"

7. "Rock & Roll Outlaw"

8. "Texan Book of The Dead"

9. "Escape From The Prison Planet"

10. "Spacegrass"

11. "I Have the Body of John Wilkes Booth"

12. "Tight Like That"

13. "Animal Farm"

14. "Droid"

15. "The House that Peterbilt"

16. "7 Jam"

17. "Tim Sult vs. The Greys"

18. "Regulator"

19. "Gravel Road"

DVD 2:

Fortune Tellers Make A Killing Nowadays documentary film