Chad VanGaalen Sets Sail for Diaper Island

Chad VanGaalen Sets Sail for <i>Diaper Island</i>
Though the last proper Chad VanGaalen release was 2009 instrumental record Snow Blindness Is Crystal Antz, under the name Black Mold, it's been a while since we've heard the solo artist sing in his unique, cracked croon. Well, jump for joy, VanGaalen fans, the man has just announced his new record.

A press release explains that the Calgary, AB-based musician is ready to unleash Diaper Island, his fourth proper solo set. While his previous records employed a modest basement studio sound, the musician decided to take his tunes to a larger recording room this time around. The result? Diaper Island is being touted as both the "most sonically cohesive album to date" and "the closest thing he has done to a rock album." While he certainly let loose the rock in the past, this might mean there's a lack of banjo-driven tunes, à la "Willow Tree" (see below).

Apparently, VanGaalen leans heavy on the overdriven sound of the electric guitar on the new disc. Aside from the sonic differences, tracks like "Do Not Fear" and "Replace Me" still take on the existential themes of life and death that permeated previous efforts. You can check out the album cover above and below you will find the tracklisting, which, yes, includes a song called "Shave My Pussy."

Diaper Island comes out May 17 via Flemish Eye in Canada and Sub Pop in the U.S.

Diaper Island:

1. "Do Not Fear"

2. "Peace On the Rise"

3. "Burning Photographs"

4. "Heavy Stones"

5. "Sara"

6. "Replace Me"

7. "Blonde Hash"

8. "Freedom for a Policeman"

9. "Can You Believe It!?"

10. "Wandering Spirits"

11. "No Panic / No Heat"

12. "Shave My Pussy"