Bouncing Souls' Gregory Attonito Preps Solo Debut

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Jun 17, 2011

While long-running New Jersey punks the Bouncing Souls have recently been celebrating their 20-plus year history via a number of concerts charting their entire discography, singer Gregory Attonito is looking past his usual musical partners for his next project.

The frontman has announced his solo debut, titled Natural Disaster. The six-song set will be issued by Chunksaah on July 12. While he's punked it up for 22 years, singing wise-ass blasts like "Here We Go" and "I Like Your Mom," his new tunes have a more plaintive, folky feel to them. You can check out the gently strummed acoustic number "Teardrops" on the Chunksaah Facebook page.

A press release describes Natural Disaster as "an exercise in simplicity," that's "wistful, intimate, plaintive. A waking dream of the most genuine kind, because Greg is a dreamer of the highest order."

The twelve-inch release will be available on a few different limited slabs of vinyl and will include a digital download card. You can read the specs on the alternate pressings here.

Natural Disaster:

1. "How Many Songs"

2. "Volcano"

3. "Cincinnati Dream"

4. "Sexiest Girl"

5. "Eyes"

6. "Teardrops"

Latest Coverage