Björk Overhauls 'Vulnicura' for 'Acoustic Version'

Björk Overhauls 'Vulnicura' for 'Acoustic Version'
Björk's album Vulnicura may have leaked a couple of months early back in January, but the Icelandic singer is still managing to get the most out of her latest LP. Not only has the record spawned three separate remix EPs, but Björk is now preparing to release a version of the album called Vulnicura Strings (Vulnicura: The Acoustic Version).

As the title suggests, this version of the record features arrangements consisting of Björk's voice backed solely by strings. There's also what is apparently the world's only viola organista, an instrument envisioned by Leonardo da Vinci that works bit like a hybrid of a keyboard and a violin. The album additionally contains violin solos from Una Sveinbjarnardóttir.

Vulnicura Strings shuffles around the original album's tracklist and omits "History of Touches." Additionally, the CD and vinyl versions feature a different running order. See the rejigged eight-song tracklists below, and listen to the new take on "Lionsong" at the bottom of the page.

The album will be released digitally and on CD on November 6, with the double vinyl to follow on December 4. The vinyl will be pressed on two black 180-gram records and housed in a gatefold sleeve. They're available to pre-order from Björk's online store.

Vulnicura Strings (Vulnicura: The Acoustic Version) (vinyl):

A1. Lionsong
A2. Black Lake
B1. Mouth Mantra
B2. Atom Dance
C1. Stonemilker
C2. Family
D1. Notget
D2. Quicksand

Vulnicura Strings (Vulnicura: The Acoustic Version) (CD):

1. Mouth Mantra
2. Lionsong
3. Black Lake
4. Atom Dance
5. Stonemilker
6. Quicksand
7. Notget
8. Family