Beams Announce 'Just Rivers,' Book Ontario Tour

Beams Announce 'Just Rivers,' Book Ontario Tour
If you're in search of a folk fix, you'll get just that when Toronto's Beams release their debut album and hit the road in Ontario. The LP is called Just Rivers, and it will be out on May 14.

Just Rivers was produced by Peter J. Moore (Cowboy Junkies, Oh Susanna) and features banjo-toting singer-songwriter Anna Mérnieks backed by Mike Duffield (drums), Heather Mazhar (vocals), Keith Hamilton (musical saw), Dave Hamilton (mandolin), Craig Moffatt (bass), and Martin Crawford (lap steel).

According to a press release, "The band's lush vocal harmonies and layers of melody often belie the disquieting and sinister aspects of Anna's lyrics."

To preview this sound, stream the brisk, rustic album opener "Be My Brother" below. The single comes backed with slightly noisier, groove-centric tune in the form of a cover of Portishead's "Glory Box," which you can also hear in the player below.

As for the band's tour plans, they will play a string of Ontario shows in March and April. This includes three Toronto gigs. See the schedule below.

Just Rivers:

1. Be My Brother
2. Sun Wraps 'Round
3. How Wonderful
4. Lets Not Keep It Open
5. Picture This
6. White Belly
7. I'm Not Human
8. Glory Box
9. What Would You Say
10. Too Much Fun
11. Where Our Cabin Lies
12. End of the Bear

Tour dates:

3/13 Peterborough, ON - The Spill
3/14 Toronto, ON - Magpie
3/23 Toronto, ON - The Silver Dollar (CMW)
3/28 Oshawa, ON - The Astria
4/20 Toronto, ON - The Silver Dollar *
4/27 St. Catherine's, ON - Soil Fest

* with William Tyler