Banded Stilts Announce 'Little Village,' Prep Canadian Tour Dates

Banded Stilts Announce 'Little Village,' Prep Canadian Tour Dates
Two years removed from Maritimes roots unit Banded Stilts' By the Back Stair EP, the band have now announced their next outing, Little Village. The group self-releases the LP on October 8.

A press release for the set explains that the band spent their tour downtime in 2012 and 2013 recording the set at Halifax's Spaces Between studio with Don Mackay. Though said to still feature folk romps full of guitars, violins and accordions, Little Village apparently veers away from the template set up on By the Back Stair by also inserting "upbeat pop and sparse piano ballads" in the mix.

Lyrically, the nine-song LP apparently brings forth "tales of mystery, tragedy, wonder and lost love". For a taste of what's to come, you can stream the set's atmospheric country waltz "Out on the Sea" down below.

Banded Stilts will support their new LP with a run of East Coast tour dates, which you can learn about beneath the album info.

Little Village:

1. The End of February
2. Cold
3. Leave a Light
4. Gloria
5. Out on the Sea
6. Stars Go Down
7. Wading Bird
8. The Squid and the Ghost Town
9. Boy of Stone

Tour dates:

10/04 Fredricton, NB - The Capital
10/12 Chester, NS - Chester Playhouse
10/19 Saint John, NB - Taco Pica
10/24 Halifax, NS - The Company House (Halifax Pop Explosion)
11/09 Sydney, NS - Governor's Pub (Nova Scotia Music Week)
12/14 Moncton, NB - Plan B