Bad Religion Announce New Album 'Age of Unreason'

Hear new song "Chaos From Within" now
Bad Religion Announce New Album 'Age of Unreason'
After sharing a trio of singles and promising that "an album's worth of 'Fuck Trump' songs" was on its way last year, Bad Religion have now detailed their 17th studio LP.

The punk vets will deliver their Age of Unreason album on May 3 through Epitaph Records. Fifteen tracks in length, the album was co-produced by the band and Carlos de la Garza (Paramore, Wolf Alice, Jimmy Eat World, M83). 

Previously shared singles "My Sanity" and "The Profane Rights of Man" appear in the tracklist, with the latter tacked on as a bonus cut. Of the effort, the band's Brett Gurewitz said, "The band has always stood for enlightenment values. Today, these values of truth, freedom, equality, tolerance, and science are in real danger. This record is our response."

Vocalist Greg Graffin added, "When I saw all these headlines about how terrible our world had become, I started doing a lot of reading. I read about the French revolution, the American Revolution, the Civil War, and I started to recognize that this is a pattern of history and something we should never venture into. There are ample warnings against it. Every school child should know this but it's hard to get people to read about these things. Maybe this album can help. Because right now, with social media, we are just playing a version of kill the guy with the ball."

Alongside the announcement, the band have shared album opener "Chaos From Within," which you can hear in the player below. Of the song, Graffin offers, "Throughout history, walls have been used to keep the barbarians out, but it seems to me the truly barbaric aspect of a civilization is the chaos that comes from within."

Bad Religion will headline Montreal punk festival '77 Montreal this July. Age of Unreason is available for pre-order here.

Age of Unreason:

1. Chaos From Within
2. My Sanity
3. Do The Paranoid Style
4. The Approach
5. Lose Your Head
6. End of History
7. Age of Unreason
8. Candidate
9. Faces of Grief
10. Old Regime
11. Big Black Dog
12. Downfall
13. Since Now
14. What Tomorrow Brings
15. The Profane Rights of Man (bonus)