Archers of Loaf Unveil 'Vee Vee' Reissue

Archers of Loaf Unveil 'Vee Vee' Reissue
Following news that celebrated '90s indie outfit Archers of Loaf had got back together to play some reunion gigs, Merge Records hooked up with the troupe to roll out a reissue campaign. First up, naturally, was a redo of the band's 1993 debut, Icky Mettle, and up next is its follow-up, Vee Vee.

Merge has announced that an expanded Vee Vee will drop on February 21 on double CD, vinyl and digitally. On top of Bob Weston's remastering job of the 13 songs that scored the 1995 effort (he was also the album's original engineer), rarities, demos and B-sides are included on disc two. You can check out the crunchy on the outside, sweet on the inside indie rock anthem "Harnessed in the Slums" down below.

Vee Vee was Archers of Loaf's best-selling album and is described as a turning point in the band's brand of "bombastic noisepop." You can pre-order the double CD or moss-green vinyl packages overhere and receive an instant download of the remastered album, but not the bonus goodies. The set also features re-imagined artwork (see above) by graphic designer Jay Ryan.

Reissues of 1996's All the Nation's Airports and 1998's White Trash Heroes, as well as more tour dates, are expected in the new year.

Vee Vee:

Disc 1:

1. "Step into the Light"

2. "Harnessed in Slums"

3. "Nevermind the Enemy"

4. "Greatest of All Time"

5. "Underdogs of Nipomo"

6. "Floating Friends"

7. "1985"

8. "Fabricoh"

9. "Nostalgia"

10.  "Let the Loser Melt"

11. "Death in the Park"

12. "The Worst Has Yet to Come"

13. "Underachievers March and Fight Song"

Disc 2:

1. "Harnessed in Slums '95" (Bob Weston Radio Mix, 1995)

2. "Telepathic Traffic" ("Harnessed in Slums" single, Alias, 1995)

3. "Don't Believe the Good News" ("Harnessed in Slums" single, Alias, 1995)

4. "Smoking Pot in the Hot City" (7" single, Esther, 1995)

5. "Mutes in the Steeple" (7" single, Esther, 1995)

6. "Mark Price P.I." (out of print)

7. "Bacteria" (The Speed of Cattle, Alias, 1996)

8. "Equinox" (unreleased) (J. Coltrane)

9. "(Big Joe and) Phantom 309" (out of print) (T. Faile)

10. "1985" (Marathon Boombox Demo)

11. "Fabricoh" (Marathon Boombox Demo)

12. "Nostalgia" (Marathon Boombox Demo)

13. "Let the Loser Melt" (Vee Vee 4-Track Demo)

14. "Underdogs of Nipomo" (Vee Vee 4-Track Demo)

15. "Nevermind the Enemy" (Vee Vee 4-Track Demo)

16. "Don't Believe the Good News" (Vee Vee 4-Track Demo)

Archers of Loaf - Harnessed in Slums (Remastered) by MergeRecords