Arcade Fire, Handsome Furs, Austra Nominated for 2011 ECHO Songwriting Prize

Arcade Fire, Handsome Furs, Austra Nominated for 2011 ECHO Songwriting Prize
Now in its sixth year, the annual ECHO Songwriting Prize is SOCAN's way of honouring Canada's best independent English-language song from the past 12 months. Meanwhile, the 2011 Prix ÉCHO de la Chanson honours the country's top Francophone song. Now, the national organization has unveiled the contenders for its 2011 awards.

The five shortlist nominees for this year's $5,000 ECHO Songwriting Prize are, in alphabetic order:

Arcade Fire - "We Used to Wait" (Ed Butler, Will Butler, Régine Chassagne, Jeremy Gara, Tim Kingsbury, and Richard Parry)
Austra - "The Beat and the Pulse" (Katie Stelmanis)
Handsome Furs - "When I Get Back" (Dan Boeckner, Alexei Perry)
Katie Moore - "Wake Up Like This" (Katie Moore)
PS I Love You - "2012" (Benjamin Nelson, Paul Saulnier)

The underdog often triumphs in the ECHO Songwriting Prize. Last year, Vancouver jazz rockers Brasstronaut beat out big-name contenders like Caribou, Crystal Castles and the Besnard Lakes. In other words, it's not inconceivable that Katie Moore will win over Arcade Fire.

As for the $5,000 Prix ÉCHO de la Chanson, the contenders are:

Jimmy Hunt - "Ça va de Soi" (Jimmy Hunt)
Géraldine - "...Et les Brochettes du Buffet" (Géraldine Bureau and Jean-Philippe Fréchette)
Jérôme Minière - "Le Vrai le Faux" (Jérôme Minière)
Philippe B - "Petite Leçon des Ténèbres" (Philippe Bergeron)
Galaxie - "Piste 1" (Olivier Langevin)

The shortlists were decided upon by panels of Canadian industry experts. From here, a public vote will determine the winners of the $5,000 prize. Past winners of the ECHO Songwriting Prize are: Brasstronaut, D-Sisive, the Weakerthans, Abdonimal and Propagandhi.

Head over to the prize's website to vote.