'Harry Potter' Soundtracks Treated to Vinyl Box Set

It hears the revival of fictional band the Weird Sisters featuring members of Pulp and Radiohead

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Oct 10, 2017

Music-loving magical folks and Muggles alike can rejoice — the soundtracks to the beloved Harry Potter films are getting treated to a new vinyl box set. It's due out November 17 via Rhino.
Pragmatically titled Harry Potter: Original Motion Picture Soundtracks I-V, the set features the scores for the first five films in the series — Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.
The first three films were scored by John Williams, while Patrick Doyle and Nicholas Hooper scored he fourth and fifth instalments, respectively.
Of particular note, 2004's Goblet of Fire OST features a trio of songs by the fictional wizarding band the Weird Sisters. "Do the Hippogriff," "This Is the Night" and "Magic Works" are accredited to the group, and were recorded by the likes of Pulp's Jarvis Cocker and Steve Mackey, Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood and Phil Selway, All Seeing I's Jason Buckle, and Add N to (X)'s Steven Claydon.

The studio supergroup can also be seen performing at the Yule Ball in the fourth film. Revisit their onscreen appearance below.

Latest Coverage