Blood Orange's Devonté Hynes Unveils Score for 'We Are Who We Are'

His score for Luca Guadagnino's TV series will arrive alongside a soundtrack featuring Prince, Radiohead, David Bowie and more
Blood Orange's Devonté Hynes Unveils Score for 'We Are Who We Are'
Blood Orange mastermind Devonté Hynes has announced plans to release his original score for Luca Guadagnino's HBO Max coming-of-age series, We Are Who We Are. The score will see its digital release alongside the 17-track official soundtrack on October 2 via Milan Records.

The score features 12 original tracks by Hynes, as well as four instrumental songs from composers Julius Eastman and John Adams. The vinyl edition of the score hasn't received a release date yet, but Milan promises the physical release is "coming soon."

Meanwhile, Guadagnino and series music supervisor Robin Urdang's various-artist soundtrack features previously released tracks from Prince, Giorgio Moroder, Aaron Carter, Radiohead, David Bowie and more.

We Are Who We Are premiered on HBO earlier this month and marked Guadagnino's television debut. It stars Jack Dylan Grazer and Jordan Kristine Seamón, alongside Chloë Sevigny, Kid Cudi, Alice Braga, Francesca Scorsese, Corey Knight, Beatrice Barichella, Ben Taylor and Sebastiano Pigazzi.

If you've yet to watch the series, check out the trailer below. There, you'll also find the tracklisting for the score and official soundtrack.

We Are Who We Are (Original Series Score):

1. Devonté Hynes - "The Long Ride II"
2. Devonté Hynes - "Let Yourself Go I"
3. Devonté Hynes - "Let Yourself Go II"
4. Devonté Hynes - "The Last Day"
5. Devonté Hynes - "Fraser's Bedroom"
6. Devonté Hynes - "He Just Left"
7. Devonté Hynes - "Notte Transfigurata I"
8. Devonté Hynes - "The Long Ride I"
9. Devonté Hynes - "Good Job, Soldier"
10. Devonté Hynes - "Body of Me"
11. Devonté Hynes - "Amorous Love"
12. Devonté Hynes - "Notte Transfigurata II"
13. Julius Eastman – "Stay On It"
14. Julius Eastman – "Gay Guerilla"
15. John Adams – "Century Rolls II Manny's Gym"
16. John Adams – "Two Fanfares for Orchestra / Short Ride in A Fast Machine"

We Are Who We Are (Original Series Soundtrack):

1. Prince - "The Love We Make"
2. Giorgio Moroder / Philip Oakey - "Why Must the Show Go On"
3. Anna Oxa - "A Lei"
4. John Adams - "Three Weeks and I'm Still Outta My Mind"
5. Klaus Nomi - "Keys of Life"
6. Klaus Nomi - "Lightning Strikes"
7. Arto Lindsay - "Child Prodigy"
8. Blood Orange - "Time Will Tell"
9. CCCP Fedeli Alla Linea - "Emilia Paranoica"
10. Francesca Scorsese - "Soldier of Love" (Sade cover)
11. Aaron Carter - "American A O"
12. Radiohead - "House of Cards"
13. David Bowie - "Absolute Beginners"
14. Kip Hanrahan - "Child Song"
15. Blood Orange - "Better Than Me (Live at Club Locomotiv)"
16. Blood Orange - "But You (Live at Club Locomotiv)"
17. Blood Orange - "Time Will Tell (Live at Club Locomotiv)"